Some people think that certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind bars.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a controversial issue that if criminals ought to be put to do free community work or simply be thrown to prisons. Although making potential prisoners give back to their societies by doing some useful jobs seems beneficial for both parties involved, it raises some serious concerns such as whether it is safe enough to let them roam around the city.

On the one hand, allowing some certain prisoner to participate in some community projects helps them to gain sense of accomplishment and improve their confidence. In addition, it can be educational since they can acquire some hand on practices which they might take a liking to choose to pursue them as their profession after they served their time. Furthermore, the new work force can make a huge impact on government budget in two ways. Firstly, fewer prison facilities would be needed as fewer number of people spend their time there. Therefore, some of the complexes can be sold or turn to other uses. Secondly, more work can be done with less amount of money paid for each project. Hence, this new development seems like a win-win situation for both sides.

On the other hand, people who have been sentenced to prison cannot be trusted. No one can guarantee their honest cooperation. They might take advantage of the change and flee or worst hurt other staff at their job. In addition, if the unpaid job option becomes mandatory instead of an alternative, it can be viewed as a form of slavery since people would be forced to work for free. Regardless of the committed crime, no one should be condemned to such fate.

In conclusion, I do believe in all the benefits that this program can bring to the society since as discussed above it can be both educational and money-saving. However, to make it a success, one should pay close attention to who get into the program and prepare the environment beforehand. Finally, the option should be proposed to potential candidates as on alternative and not an obligation.