News plays an important part of most people's lives. Why is news so important to people? Why is so much news dedicated to bad news? Should the news focus on good news instead?

Following the news has become a daily routine for majority of people. There are different reasons contributing to this fascination such as to increase social awareness. Although it is vital to be informed, hearing bad news has detrimental effect in our mind. Therefore, the question is why there are so many of bad news. do bad events outweigh good ones in people real life?

Individuals follow the news for several reasons. First of all, a responsible citizen always wants to be aware of what is happening in his/her society to act accordingly. For example, when people hear about the government decision to start a war, they organize some campaign to prevent it. Without knowing about the decision, they would not be able to show their protest on time. Secondly, talking about what is going on in the society is a good starting point for social conversation since everyone can participate in the argument.

Nevertheless, majority of the news is dedicated to disasters, death, violence and war. People are bombarded with this unfortunate information which somehow get used to hearing them and have lost their significance long time ago. There is always war in places around the world or a hate attack against some groups, e.g., Muslims, Christen. On the other hand, there are rarely happy reports, like preserving an endangered species from distinction on the news, that it always attracts lots of attention whenever such news gets to the front line.

In an industrial life, people are surrounded with stress and need to be cheered up. The truth is lots of good things happen in this world otherwise people had given up on life long time ago. There is always hope and that is what keeps people going on. Broadcasting cheerful news helps people to realize that there are still others who are doing good jobs to help the environment or other humans.

In conclusion, although bad news help raise awareness, it can be beneficial to show more good news to increase hope and happiness.