With the development of social media, more and more youngsters are being allowed unsupervised access to the internet in order to meet and chat with friends which can lead to potentially dangerous situations. What solutions can you suggest to deal with this problem?

Internet attraction has increased dramatically over the few decades. The majority of its users our young adults who use the media to stay connected to their fellows. Although internet can be beneficial in so many ways, the anonymity that it provides makes it a perfect place for criminals to hide out and target naive adolescents who can be deceived easily without the protection of their parents.

First solution to the raised issue is to supervise children activities on the Internet. One way to achieve this goal is to allow children to access a selected set of websites which have been validated by authorities such as government or school council. The limited access protects children from being targeted by terrorists and child-abusers since these sites are under constant surveillance of those who validated them. In addition, those validated websites administrators are always monitoring the users to prevent any kind of report which result in their license removal. On the other hand, parents can decrease the risk of harmful effects of the net by cutting down the number of hours a child is allowed to spend on the Internet. This restriction would help teenagers to pay more attention to their educations and socialize in the real world.

The second approach to prevent any disastrous impact of unsupervised access to the Internet could be teaching kids the downfalls and threats of such network. Studies show that children can detect dangers and avoid them if they had been warned beforehand about the signs of suspicious acts. Parent should accept the fact that they cannot forever shield their offspring from the world. Therefore, it is better to equip them with the knowledge and trust that they are going to make the best decisions.

In conclusion, internet can be used for both malicious and honorable purposes. Therefore, it is one of the responsibilities of a parent to make it a safe environment for their children by setting some rules and controlling their access. Besides, parents should talk to their children about the threats of such media and prepare them.