People today do not feel safe either at home or when they are out. What are the causes? What solutions can you suggest?

Nowadays people experience uneasiness and insecurity whether they are at their own house or out on the streets. Various factors play a role in stirring such feelings in individuals. In the following two of the most prominent ones will be introduced and finally probable steps that can significantly resolve the issue will be proposed.

The most obvious reason that robs the sleep from anyone's eyes at night and disturb their peace is undoubtedly the strikingly rising crime rate and violent behavior. The number of robberies, burglaries and even homicide has increased alarmingly over the past decade. It seems that no one is safe anymore even at school students fall victims to hateful terrorist attacks. Therefore, it is not hard to see why so many people are even afraid of their own shadows! In addition, there are news about criminal activities everywhere, on the news, the internet and even social media. Although a responsible citizen must always be aware of its surrounding to act accordingly, this influx of terrifying news on different media has detrimental effects on the society since it makes people feel insecure all the time. Sometimes journalists exaggerate the impact of an incident which they are reporting so that it makes the headline. Furthermore, catastrophes, such as terrorist attacks and human trafficking, take the largest portion of the news, which gives the impression that there is imminent threat near us.

To address this problem some measures can be taken. Firstly, government needs to pay attention to eliminate the causes that persuade people to turn into violence and become a criminal. For example, poverty is one of the reason that contributes to juvenile delinquency and aggressive behavior. Consequently, one can reduce the number of adolescents choosing the wrong path by providing promising opportunities for them such as free college education and stable employment. Additionally, media should be regulated to broadcast the news with much more care. For instance, by verifying the magnitude of the event and the its possible influence on the viewer before announcing them to the public. Besides, it would be beneficial to see some good news about successful environmental activities to preserve the endangered species to just cheer people up.

In conclusion, there are various factors which contribute to people feeling not as ease even at the safety of their own home. Nevertheless, none of the problems are insurmountable and as mentioned above can be alleviated.