In countries where there is a high unemployment rate, most pupils should be offered only primary education, there is no point in providing secondary education for those who will have no hope in finding a job. Do you agree or disagree?

Unemployment is one of the many problems that is increasing in countries around the world, especially the developing ones. Some people believe since there are large number of highly educated individuals unemployed, it is not beneficial to encourage students to pursue their education further without any prospect of landing a decent job. In my opinion, I do believe that higher education is extremely valuable since it raises the intellectual level of the society; furthermore, the job market might improve over time. As a result, it is imperative to provide secondary education to pupils.

First of all, education improves people's knowledge and broadens their horizon even if it cannot help them to find a job in their respective major. A well-rounded society has a better chance of reaching prosperity and fulfilling its dreams since an educated person take a more responsible role in his/her community and contribute to its growth. For example, by participating in elections and endorsing candidates who can make a positive impact on the weakened economy and create more job opportunities for unemployed graduates. Moreover, education trains a person's mind and gives them critical skills, such as problem solving and communication, that can be useful later in life.

Secondly, economy is not going to be always deteriorating. In fact, history shows that economic recessions do not last for a long time and industries overcome their predicaments and flourish again. Therefore, it does not seem reasonable to discourage people from getting academic qualifications when no one can predict what the future holds. I personally am of the belief that one should follow its own ambitions in life without obsessing about the future. Take numerous people who turned their life around when it appeared to be impossible for an instance, they proved that despite the obstacles, one can prevail with perseverance.

In conclusion, although it might seem futile to follow a major that does not have any prospect, education has its own significant values that cannot be overlooked.