For school children, their teachers have more influence on their intelligence and social development than their parents. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Education plays an important role on children's personal development. Some people argue that teachers have more impact on pupils intellectual and social progress than their parents. Although, students learn critical skills from their instructors, I do believe it is family that shapes a person.

Firstly, scholars spend most of their time at home where they are under the direct influence of their guardians. One teacher is assigned to a group of students, from 10 to 40, while usually each child is under the care of two parents whom have to divide their attention between possibly one or two offspring. Therefore, parents can spend more quality time with their children and guide them. In addition, teacher do not generally devote their life to the success of their students whereas parents make it their mission to pave the path for their children achievement whether it is via tutoring their children or reprimanding them for their destructive actions. Hence, as children spend more time in the company of their parents, it is more likely that the parents have the most productive effect on their children.

Secondly, children like to impress their parents and they often thrive to become someone like them. It is very common that a youngster with stable and healthy family often choose their mother or father as their role model. This simply means that they try their best to observe that person's behavior and try their best to imitate them. Undoubtedly, repeating an action makes it a habit over time and instill it in the child personality; it is especially true about social behaviors. For example, children with extrovert parents turn out to be easygoing as well since they witnessed their parents warm and welcoming attitude towards foreigners while growing up. Moreover, children seek their parent’s approval and the easiest way to get that is through following their parents steps and be the person their parents envisioned them to be.

In conclusion, although school and more specifically teachers provide scientific and moral lessons for children, parents have a stronger impact on their children intellectual and social development.