Nowadays, more and more older people who need employment compete with the younger people for the same jobs.

What problems this causes?

What are solutions?

Currently, the number of elderly people who are seeking similar jobs as youth is on the rise. This new rush for same careers influences the job market in so many ways. In this essay both issues and possible solutions will be discussed.

Increasing interest to apply for occupations among older generation can cause detrimental effect on society. Firstly, if people who have hit the retirement age refuse to go home and insist on being an active job seeker, less number of youths get the opportunity to be recruited since they cannot compete with their senior fellows in terms of experience. Therefore, younger generation would be forced to take on unrelated jobs to their field of study and thus the industry will suffer from lack of innovation and motivation which a young adult could have offered. Secondly, as people get older, they need to rest more and be taken care of. In contrast, staying in an office endanger their health. Moreover, they should be able to enjoy their retirement time by traveling around the world or spending quality time with their grandchildren.

There are some steps that can be taken to alleviate the situation. To tackle the problem, government can set a mandatory retirement age and enforce companies to follow this law by punishing those which fail to do so. Although this solution will work, it might be best to find out the reason why older people prefer to stay on their work, i.e., what motivates them to make such decision. For example, some retired individuals complain that their pension does not cover their expenses thus they have to be an active employee to support their family. Hence, government can remedy this problem by increasing the minimum amount of wage. Furthermore, authorities can encourage companies to hire youngster through various means such as decreasing the taxes for those organizations which have younger staffs.

In conclusion, older generation should leave the working environment when they reach a certain age otherwise they make lots of troubles not only for young adults who are struggling to enter the working community but themselves by endangering their health.