Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in their life. What are the reasons? what are the effects on society and family life?

The number of people who avoid pregnancy till get older is dramatically increasing. Different factors contribute to this new trend such as working females. In the following some of these reason will be discussed along with probable effects of such change.

First of all, women as primary care takers of infants would rather continue their education and work to earn their independence. Therefore, they are less inclined to put their future at risk by getting pregnant and taking on the new responsibility of another human being while based the general perception it is the mother's duty to care for her offspring. Moreover, with the tough economy couples do not feel secure enough to add another mouth to feed. Kids are quite demanding and they rely on their parents to provide for their various needs ranging from nourishment to emotional support. Taking on a journey of bringing up a child not only requires financial stability but also psychological preparation, which young adult are not capable of offering due to their own struggles. Hence, it is reasonable why people delay the process as long as they can.

The effects of this decision is somehow obvious. In the future, there is going to be a big age gap between parents and their offspring. Consequently, youth will feel more distance as they deem their parent old and unable to understand their mindset. On the other hand, parents are not young enough to put up with a noisy toddler or handle a rebellious teenager since as people get older they become less energetic or patient. In addition, as people start having kids in older ages, their reproduction ability will be weaker, and thus the birth rate will decrease significantly. As a result, most children will be the only child in their family without any siblings to look up to or support them in times of need.

In conclusion, recent changes in global economy and women empowerment have led to a society where individuals prefer to get to older ages so that they would be mature and stable enough before thinking about bringing another person to this world.