Some people who have been in prison become good citizens later. Some people think that having these people to give a talk to school students is the best way to tell them about dangers of committing a crime. Do you agree or disagree?

It has been argued that it is beneficial to let prisoners who have changed their lives for the better after serving their sentences relate their stories to young adults in order to keep them away from criminal activities. In my opinion, although these fellows can set a good example for adolescents, the encounter may have some unintentional negative effects on the students. Therefore, this kind of programs must be conducted under strict supervision.

On the one hand, listening to individuals who had turned their lives around is always educational for teenagers. The first lesson that they can learn from those former delinquents is that every action has its own consequences and no one can forever run from the responsibility of damages caused by their behaviors. Hence, one should ponder on the possible results of their thoughts before acting on them. Secondly, previous prisoners who have become successful citizens are the living examples of hope and determination. In other words, they prove that second chances do exists and one should not lose his/her ambition no matter how miserable his/her life might seem at the moment.

On the other hand, concerned parents believe that exposing their offspring to get in contact with such individuals with a violent background may have various detrimental impact on the students' innocent minds. Children are most of the time oblivious to what is going on in a gang of criminals since all their lives they have been kept away from that information by their guardians. Thus such encounters can open their eyes to a different lifestyle and ignite their curiosity to explore while they are not old enough to comprehend the threats of approaching that side of the world. Even if the lectures informs them about the possible threats they might not be able to understand it while being blinded by the enthusiasm of that way of living.

In conclusion, although having a former criminal give lectures at school might be an eye-opening experience for the juvenile audience, no one can guarantee that what part of the speech attracts most of the students’ attention and how it affects them. Therefore, these type of talks must be fully planned and practiced before being given in the public.