Every one of us should become a vegetarian because eating meat can cause serious health problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The number of people who opt vegetarianism is rapidly increasing. Some people believe that everyone should replace meats with vegetables to prevent the detrimental effects that consuming meats has on human's body. Although a non-vegan diet increases the risk of becoming a victim of cancer or a heart attack, it is not acceptable to force people to choose one unanimous lifestyle and take away their free will.

On the one hand, people who have a meat-based diet are more prone to have various health issues. Studies show that consuming a large amount of meat, especially the red ones, is the biggest factor that contributes to high blood pressure. People with high blood pressure in turn are more likely to experience heart diseases. In addition, meat-based diets are high in fat and salt which both are harmful for human's body. It is also a common that meat-based diets are not as nutritious as the vegan ones since they lack the variety of vitamins that a vegan meal contains. Therefore, it seems reasonable to advise individual to become vegetarians to maintain their health.

On the other hand, it is too extreme to force people to follow a lifestyle even if it is for their own benefit. As human beings, we are entitled to have a choice no matter how harmful our choice might be for our body. People adopt different lifestyles for various reasons and it is not justifiable to deprive them of their freedom regardless of the cause. For example, some people enjoy eating meat and consider it one of the most pleasurable activities in their life. Depriving these people of this simple pleasure might trigger their depression and have psychological damages. As a result, in my opinion, vegetarianism must not become a mandatory option and should remain a mere recommendation.

In conclusion, although swapping meat with vegetables in meals has numerous significant advantages, it is still a matter of personal preferences and must not be forced upon individuals.