Some people believe that children’s leisure activities must be educational, otherwise they are a complete waste of time.

Do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your experience.

Some people argue that children should spend their time on education even when they are not at school or doing their homework since time is of essence and must be valued. However, I am totally opposed to this argument and in the following I am going to present my reasoning.

First of all, bombarding pupils with various scientific facts will only make them tired and frustrated. Everyone needs to relax and unwind once in a while and children are not an exception. If a kid is pushed hard to study all the time, he/she would break eventually under all that pressure. Entertainments and game can be seen as break time for our mind. They give our brain enough time to process and store the information it has received during the day. In addition, they can be used as prizes to persuade the kids to study so that they can be free again!

Secondly, Successful people besides having the knowledge possess certain social skills. They have experienced life not only through books and someone else's point of view, but also by their own. Youngster should be let out to see the world for themselves, and not be locked up in dull classes for all their teens' lives. By exploring their surroundings, they learn how to interact with other people and show compassion when required. No one like a nerd who is unable to start a simple conversation. Just because they have drowned themselves in their books while growing up and never bothered to talk to their peers, they lake the precious skill of communication. As a result, they cannot present their ideas and sell them to their audiences. Therefore, they often get ignored no matter how brilliant their ideas are.

In conclusion, although learning mathematics, physics and biology trains child's brain, it does not necessarily guarantee their success in the future. There are other essential skills like communication and sympathy which are not taught in any classroom. Hence, it is vital to let teens fool around with their friends to gain such experience.