Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the governments rather than private companies. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that scientific research must be conducted and monitored by the official authorities such as the government. Although there are several merits to this notion, I personally am of the belief that knowledge has no limits and nobody should be banned from exploring various fields of study.

Firstly, governments always like to pursue their ambitions and are more likely to invest money in subjects that can bring them closer to achieving their goals. For example, in middle east, all countries are competing to gain more power. In recent years, we witnessed that a great deal of money was spent on nuclear programs in Iran so that the country could assert its place in the region. This thirst for power put an unprecedented strain on the country's economy and in the meanwhile it led to no beneficial outcome. This example shows how governments can have ulterior motives when it comes to allocating resources to scientific projects and thus must be separated from the process.

Secondly, researchers have free spirits and typically do not appreciate being bossed around or told how to proceed with their work. Scholars often take different approaches to tackle a presented challenge that at the time might seem unreasonable or even stupid. However, the greatest inventions of our era such as Internet are the results of taking those adventurous risks. These decisions changed our world for the better and continue to do so. Hence, science must never be restricted or governed by the government or any kind of authority since it prevents individuals' creativity and as a result deprives human beings from reaching their full potential.

In conclusion, scientific research should not be regulated by the government if we want to value them for the sake of knowledge and not power. In addition, being controlled by government is like putting a leash on innovation and restrict the limitless potential of science.