School children are becoming far too dependent on computers. This is having an alarming effect on reading and writing skills. Teachers need to avoid using computers in the classroom at all costs and go back to teaching basic study skills.

Do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that pupils rely on computers, whether to do a research or find solutions to their math problems, so much so it affects their reading and writing competency. It is their belief that teachers must refrain from utilizing new technologies while conveying lessons and return to the traditional way of teaching. In my opinion, new advancements have had a great impact on the quality of education. Hence, I totally disagree with the proposed approach.

Firstly, computers provide vast number of opportunities to enhance the learning process. For example, in a classroom where everyone has its own laptop, all the students have the same chance to answer a question asked by the teacher whereas in the past only the most intelligent person always would have robed others the possibility of answering. In addition, according to research, individuals have different learning speed. Therefore, teaching students the same material over the same period of time without considering their various talents not only is unfair to the slow learners but also hinders the faster ones from achieving their full potential. This issue has been entirely resolved by introducing individual based courses which are monitored by artificial intelligence agents.

Secondly, in a world dominated by computers, it seems so far-fetched to assume that by practicing the old way of teaching youngsters would forget about this amazing technology and spend more time on reading or writing. This new machine has made its way to humans’ lives so permanently that no one can overlooks its advantageous and demands the cease of it usage. Besides, one can argue that the Internet has facilitated the spread of knowledge beyond the border of nations. Nowadays, students of a remote village in a third world country can reach the same resources provided to their peers in a developed country, thanks to the idea of free education. Therefore, it is safe to say that computers are just mere devices and it is up to human beings that how they want to employ them whether in a beneficial way or in a damaging one.

In conclusion, based on the reasons mentioned above, I strongly believe that the benefits of using computers in education system outweigh its disadvantageous.