Many people believe that international tourism is a bad thing for their country. What are the reasons for this? What can be done to change this negative attitude towards international tourism?

Large number of individuals think that worldwide tourism is harmful for their nation. There are various factors that contribute to this belief. To change this notion, at first reasons supporting these thought will be discussed and then possible solutions will be suggested.

First of all, older generation despise tourism industry since it brings foreigner to their homeland. Strangers have different cultures and even follow other religions than the natives. Thus, some conservatives argue that as more foreign tourists roam around the country, more young adults will get attracted to foreign customs and abandon practicing their own traditions. In addition, nationalists are concerned with security issues that may raise due to allowing international travelers into country's border. Although every country does some background checking prior to giving passage allowance, it has been proved not sufficient enough in so many occasions when a tourist turned out to be a spy.

Benefits of having a boosting tourism industry are so impressive that no one with a logical mind can overlook them. Therefore, government should take some initiative to change the way some people think about this industry. By emphasizing on the advantages of developing tourism industry, authorities can make people to understand that the benefits of this market outweigh its disadvantages. For example, by pointing out that, foreigners spend their money while traveling on food, souvenir, and hotels. As a result, they bring lots of income to their host country. Besides, international tourists can promote a nation’s traditions when they go back to their homeland or travel to other countries. Hence, there is no need to fear their influence on vanishing old rituals. As for security concerns, governments can make extra precautionary measures to single out malicious individuals from the ordinary ones.

In conclusion, although some people see international tourism as a thread to their country due several reasons, government can change that view via emphasizing on how beneficial it can be and ensuring the public safety.