It is now possible for scientists and tourists to travel to remote natural environment, such as the South Pole. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

The new inventions have made it feasible for humans to reach untouched nature to conduct research or simply enjoy the scenery. Although these unseen places present plenty of opportunities both to science and tourism industry, the purity of them gets endangered as soon as men set their foot on those lands.

On the one hand, a lot of scientific questions can be answered by examining these areas. They are so many facts hidden in their soil, such as buried fossils of instinct animals. Reaching those lands can help researcher to understand the revolution in a better light. Besides, duo to their unique climates, scientist might gain special knowledge which they had not found in other places. There is also the possible impact of reaching off the beaten path places on tourism industry. It attracts undoubtedly lots of attention since people like to be the first one who travels to those lands before it gets destroyed by the humankind. Therefore, it will bring large amount of revenue for travel agencies which offer such destinations.

On the other hand, whenever human goes destruction follows as it has happened to other natural sites in the past. People change the environment by abandoning their trash, which most of the are non-recyclable, in the nature, cutting the trees or worst of all threatening the species by haunting them. In addition, humans need to build constructions such as hotels or research labs if they want to stay there for a long time. These new building change the ecosystem dramatically and damage the purity of the environment. For example, construction might scare animals to roam freely and prevent them from accessing their food supplies and thus put them in the risk of dying out.

In conclusion, although accessing remote natural places can solve many researchers’ problems and uncover valuable information, in my opinion its disadvantages outweigh its benefits. Hence, it is better to preserve those places by limiting people access to them.