Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the governments rather than private companies. Do you agree or disagree?

scientific research across the world is carried out and controlled sometimes by governments, sometimes by private corporation. while there are some arguments in favor of scientific probe by private sector, I agree with the view that scientific research should be fund and controlled by state.

A good reason that government is better to take control of scientific research is that despite of private companies' demand to undertake scientific research, it has two serious dangers in this issue. Firstly, from the quality and objectivity of research itself, the corporations that carry this out may be tempted to manipulate results in order to maximize benefits. In the other words, there are numerous scandals as a result of new products being introduced hurriedly after inadequate trials. For instance, Thalidomide, a german drug that results in the birth of many malformed children. From the ethical perspective, taking scientific investigation like Genetic engineering in the hands of private sector may have social consequences that may result in the entire whole ecosystem demolish. Such as, GM crops which have unproven damages on environments as a result of middling nature.

Another reason that scientific research should be observed and provided money by government is that although governments should allocate resources in various public spending, it should be responsible for scientific research. first of all, the highest standards can be set by providing money for university departments to have high-quality research which benefits society, not to break into new markets, or making a competitive edge. Furthermore, knowledge thus gained can be shared worldwide throughout the academic community.

Furthermore, government-decision making is the best way to prioritize expenditure on specific areas of the probe, taking into consideration the needs of society, both present, and future. One example is the development of renewable energy to meet growing demands.

In conclusion, while some people believe that scientific research should be fund and observe by corporation, I agree that the government should bear sole responsibility for scientific research.