Young people who commit serious crimes should be punished in the same way as adults. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that when it comes to punishing criminals their ages should not be taken into consideration. Therefore, individuals ranging from teenager to adult must face the same consequences in case they break the law. Others argue that age plays an important role in our decision making skill and thus it must be a factor while determining a verdict. I personally agree with the second group opinion as I am going to explain my reasoning in the following.

First of all, adolescents are easily affected by their environment and are extremely emotional. Most of the decisions that a youngster makes are based on other people's beliefs and quite illogical. Hence, no matter how horrible their act might be, they should not be held solely responsible. In a way, they themselves are the victims. Statistics show that juveniles who turn to violence and criminal activities are mostly from poor families who have been neglected for all their lives. By abandoning them, society taught them to sought violence instead of compassion and made them the villain that they have become.

Secondly, biologically speaking, brain does not fully develop till a human reach adulthood. Brain is one of the most sophisticated organs in human's body where all one's reasoning and planning takes place. Having an undeveloped mind undermines all the actions that has been taken with that state of mind, which is the reason behind why teenagers do not have legal right to vote, make a deal, or decide for their health care. Based on this scientific evidence, it is not fair to expect youths to show the same level of understanding as grown-ups when they are physically unable to.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that adolescents must be treated differently from adults while being judged for their actions even if their crimes are as gruesome as murder.