It is inevitable that traditional cultures will be lost as technology develops. Technology and traditional cultures are incompatible. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

Technological advancements have raised many controversial issues such as its influence on culture. Although some people consider digitalization a threat to tradition and argue that they cannot coexist peacefully, I strongly believe the opposite.

Technology not only has not damaged nations’ identity and their customs but also has played a significant role in traditional culture promotion. Firstly, with various digital devices available at hand, it has become much easier to advocate for a ritual such as Nowruz. For example, photos and movies taken from a native ceremony can reach thousands of audiences in a matter of second after posting online. Moreover, it captures the various rituals involving the tradition so that will never be lost or forgotten. Another advantage that has been provided by the Internet is a cheap and convenient way of communication to broadcast news about culture. Media used to be dominated by a limited number of powerful agencies which obviously pursued their own agenda, while broadcasting the current affairs, by putting emphasis on some events and neglecting the others. However, the net provides a cheap and efficient way to communicate different ideas about culture as everyone has a voice.

Furthermore, the technology has changed the education system for the better and as a result provided a great platform for teaching tradition to youngsters. First of all, it has made learning a more fun activity through offering teachers wide range of utilities such as 3D simulations and video games. There are quite a large number of online video games that take place in historical eras and players must learn about that period or perform special rituals in order to unlock new levels. These kind of incentives can help adolescents to learn about their culture while being entertained. Finally, online education can help a great deal of people to become more knowledgeable about their ancient history since they are accessible from every part of the country.

In conclusion, despite the belief that technology is destroying the culture, in my opinion it is helping culture to be promoted and educated. Therefore, no one should overlook the beneficial impact of technology on cultures.