It is inevitable that traditional cultures will be lost as technology develops. Technology and traditional cultures are incompatible. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

Some people argue that technological advances can neither fit in with traditional cultures nor go hand in hand with it. While it is true in some societies, at the same time, it has largely benefitted in preservation of many cultures.

On one hand, technology driven industrial era, attributed to the displacement of many societies living in villages and mountainous regions. For example, In India, the sudden boom in the industrialization caused people to disperse away to the cities and plains to keep their professions. These communities, which had a strong sense towards practicing their culture, are now too busy to celebrate a cultural event. Now, their hometowns appear deserted and cultures look ignored and forgotten. Thus, this revolution forced mass displacements and certainly turned the worlds upside down, let alone culture.

On the other hand, major breakthroughs not only preserved of many cultures but also brought many forgotten ones to limelight. Many edifices of historical importance in India, for instance, which were at the brink of crumbling down. These building were brought to life by novel engineering inventions, aiding in preservation of the traditional heritages. Other traditional civilizations, unknown to humans, were revealed to world. For instance, the long-lost Harappa civilization’s history are now the part of children’s textbooks. Overall, such new groundbreaking enhancements aided in the upkeep of many cultures as well as saved many.

In conclusion, many traditional ways of life have been lost because of advances in technology, but other aspects of culture have survived for the world to witness it.