Some people think that the government should ensure the healthy lifestyle of people, but others argue that it should be decided by individuals. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are different opinions on whether it is the government responsibility to guarantee a healthy society by dictating a lifestyle accordingly or it is individuals right to make that decision by themselves. In my opinion, although government play an enormous role in the way we live, people are the one who have the final say in every aspect of their lives.

On the one hand, the government has the power to impact our lifestyle in a positive or negative way. For instance, by enforcing companies to offer better health care packages to their employees. In addition, studies show that companies that provide several healthy meal during office hours have healthier and happier staffs who state they would have skipped lunch if they had not been offered the free food. Besides, government has the media and the budget to raise awareness towards the value of exercise or healthy diets. Campaigns can be organized to advertise the better way of living, to encourage people to be cautious with their life.

On the other hand, people make the ultimate decision since in a democratic community everyone has the freedom to choose his/her lifestyle. The reason why such law exists to prevent authority from depriving civil right of choice is to protect those not been considered normal by society. For example, some people consume more food than what considered to be adequate. Nevertheless, they lifestyle cannot be labeled unhealthy based on this simple observation since people have various metabolism. Therefore, one remedy does not apply to all people as they have different personality, jobs, and genetics.

In conclusion, although government can guide the society in the right direction by installing some law or raising awareness, it is up to individuals to take care of themselves and make rational decisions regarding their health.