Some people think certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind bars.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

In today’s world, the crime rate in a city is increasing at an alarming rate. Not a day passes when we do not read or hear about the country’s lawbreaking pursuits. Although, a segment of the society argues that all crimes are equal and the criminals should be punished harshly, others believe that those who commit low-level crimes should be made to do voluntary work. Whether a criminal should be made to do social service or put behind the bars will be discussed further in this essay.

To embark on, everyone is not born criminal but when a man is denied the right to live the life he believes in; he has no choice but to become an outlaw. A helpless person who is involved in petty criminal activities should be made to do community services like planting trees, cleaning roads, volunteering for a charitable trust and so on rather than being unfairly disciplined by the law to change their behaviour towards mankind. For Example, a kid who has stolen a loaf of bread from a store intending to feed his starving parents should not be detained but should be made to do social welfare so that he can be an asset to the society.

On the contrary, criminals involved in heinous criminal activities such as killings, rapes, abduction and so on should be penalized hardly. For example, Delhi’s popular rape case in which the girl was brutally assaulted and severely wounded, the accused were punished hard by the law and order of the nation. Before being prosecuted, the history of the suspect and the justification of the offense should be understood. Doing unpaid and charitable work will not reform the offenders. They will be more diligent about committing a crime. Of the fact, the culprits should be locked up in jails to make them feel guilty and understand the pain for the victim.

To conclude, I completely agree that the law of the country should consider that someone with no criminal record if involved in slight misconduct with no objective must be made to do community welfare, rather than the serial killers who should be locked up to maintain peace and harmony in the society.