Some people think certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind bars.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

In today’s world the crime rate in a city is increasing at an alarming rate. Not a day passes when we do not read or hear of murders, rape, kidnapping, burglary and so on. A segment of the society has an opinion that all crimes are equal and the criminals should be punished harshly, while other believe that the those who commit low level of crime should be made to do voluntary work. Whether a criminal should be made to do social service or put behind the bars will be discussed further in this essay.

To embark on, everyone is not born criminal but when a man is denied the right to live the life he believes in; he has no choice but to become an outlaw. A helpless person who is involved in petty criminal activities should be made to do community services like planting trees, cleaning roads, working for a charitable trust and so on rather than punished harshly by the law. For Example, a child who has stolen a loaf of bread from a shop for his starving family should not be detained, instead should be made to do social welfare because the motive of stealing is not bad. Moreover, if a person involved in a crime knows his course is wrong and repairs the evil should be given a second chance by the law and order of the country to live life freely and with dignity.

On the contrary, criminals involved in heinous criminal activities such as killings, rapes, abduction and so on should be penalised hardly. For example, the famous rape case that took place Delhi in which girl was brutally assaulted and severely injured, the convicted were punished hard by the law and order of the nation. The background of the criminal and the motif of the crime should be considered before punishing someone. Doing unpaid and charitable work will not reform the offenders. They will recommit the crimes more seriously. Furthermore, the culprits should be locked up in jails to make them feel guilty for the crime they have done and understand and feel the pain for the victim.

To conclude, I completely agree that the law of the country should consider that someone with no criminal record if involved in slight misconduct with no objective must be made to do community welfare, rather than the serial killers who should be locked up in order to maintain peace and harmony in the society.