With the growing world population one of the most pressing issues is that of feeding such a large number of people. Some people think that GM foods offer a viable solution to this problem.

To what extend do you agree or disagree?

It is an undeniable fact that growing population is an uncontrollable phenomenon and it has raised certain issues as a consequence. One of the biggest concern taken strength is the availability of food. Some people believe that GM foods can be a good solution to this problem. I completely disagree to this argument. I will validate my stance with valid arguments and examples in the following paragraphs.

Predominantly, feeding growing population is an alarming situation. However, providing GM foods as a substitute to natural food resources is like playing with people's health and life. Population health and quality of food is of paramount importance. Genetically modified can never ever replace natural food as it does not contain required vitamins and minerals essential for human body. For instance, an orange fully grown on tree is enriched with all the natural ingredients such as vitamin C & calcium. Whereas, an orange grown artificially in limited time is just a modified food alternative with no benefits.

On the contrary, people are increasingly consuming GM foods; despite of being aware of all the adverse affects it can cause on health. Government should play vital role in this perspective. Government should educate people to adopt farming as a profession as most of the farmers are uneducated; particularly in the third world countries. For instance, in Pakistan; if people face unemployment, they can chose farming as a business which will not only provide natural food source for their families but also give monetary benefits.

To recapitulate the aforementioned argument, i opine that people should identify the means of growing natural foods resources instead of relying on GM foods as an alternative. Population should be controlled and other ways should be explored where quality of food can be attained coming from natural sources.