Present a written argument or case to an educated reader with no specialist knowledge of the following topic.

Many childhood diseases can now be prevented through the use of vaccines.

Should parents be made by law to immunize their children against common diseases or should individuals have the right to choose not to immunize their children?

There is no gainsaying that topic of child vaccination drags immediate attention owing to its uniqueness and versatility. One group of people assert that parents should be given the liberty to decide if they want to get their child immunized, whereas, other group of people is of the opinion that parents should be bound by law for their kids vaccination. Let’s discuss both dimensions in detail before reaching to a final verdict.

To begin with, if we look back few decades, people suffered from different diseases they were not aware of. They died fighting those disease due to unknown cure. However, nowadays, with extensive research in medical sciences, we have established cure for almost all fatal diseases such as Cancer, Hepatitis etc. Some parents, however, still believe in the authenticity of home remedies and are reluctant in immunization of their kids. In this era, disease have become more fatal due to environmental changes as compared to past and hence, cannot be treated with home remedies anymore.

The idea of enforcing parents for vaccination is relatively absurd. A more rational approach is to run educational campaigns to achieve the goal of healthy masses. Such awareness campaigns would guide parents how these contiguous diseases can adversely affect their child’s health and growth. To elucidate it further, by vaccinating the child timely, they would prevent their child from any fatal disease proactively, that might have long lasting impact even after cure. For instance, Polio is a fatal disease, if not vaccinated timely till the age of 5 would give lifelong disability.

To recapitulate the aforementioned argument, I prefer the idea of giving freedom to parents to decide vaccination of their kids. Definitely, this idea would be backed up by extensive awareness campaigns and by highlighting the harmful consequences intact to it. Law enforcement would bring sense of threat and reason of anger in parents, so it should not be adopted.