You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Present a written argument or case to an educated reader with no specialist knowledge of the following topic.

Many childhood diseases can now be prevented through the use of vaccines.

Should parents be made by law to immunise their children against common diseases or should individuals have the right to choose not to immunise their children?

You should use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

You should write at least 250 words.

Humans have found prevention for many illnesses and have created vaccines for those. Many believe that it should be compulsory for parents to immunise children against preventable diseases, while many others believe that it should be optional. This essay will discuss both the viewpoints and why compulsory vaccination is a better alternative.

Some parents suggest that immunisation against certain infections reduces a child's ability to generate natural defence. Many researchers have found that some virus mutate every year and if we leave our body to defend itself against them, our body will be able to create new antibodies which can fight against similar illnesses. For example, some tribes in Indonesia are unaffected by deadly swine flu as their immune system has generated proper defence mechanism against various strains of the virus. So, in many cases avoiding prevention of certain disease seems quite appealing.

On the other hand, opinions of mandatory immunisation have a strong voice amongst parents and authorities. Since many of the diseases are preventable by vaccines and most of these agents causing the infections do not vary their characteristics over time, it is advised by most doctors and scientists that we can wipe out such disease by vaccinating every child. For example, Polio has been eradicated from most of the countries by creating laws to mandate its immunisation. Since prevention of any disease is better than cure, it looks to be a better choice to make a mandate for immunisation against common diseases.

Medical science has found many ways to prevent different infections, but the adoption depends on how we chose to use it. The essay highlighted the opposing views for compulsory vaccination versus and optional one. To conclude, I believe that the benefits of mandatory immunisation outweighs those where the choice is left to individuals.