Present a written argument or case to an educated reader with no specialist knowledge of the following topic:

News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news was reported?

A significant evolution has been observed in the field of print & broadcast media. Media has always played a very vital role in developing or destroying someone's image, but advance technology has made their job even more easy in intervening in every situation. Now these channels and media mediums have become blackmailing giants that can change the game either by showing reality or spreading false news. It is upon news editor's discretion that how they can mold the news which eventually can give them better ratings.

To begin with, this profession has drastically changed its core mission of disbursing reality news to masses, rather they earn money by tweiking news. There are many influential factors involved such as politicians, business tycons etc. A fair example would be, success factor for any product would to be promoted in a truthfull manner.

To elucidate it further, media persons are very much aware how to play with audiences mindset. For instance, if they are broadcasting continuous bad news about a politician, people would start to think bad of him eventually. Nowadays, there is very little time for someone to authenticate what he reads or listen. People would blindly follow whatever image media portrays about anyone.

Today time is money, everyone is encircled in their life routines and ambitions so much that they barely get time to watch television and read news papers. Coming from reader/viewer's perspective, if they are sparing time to watch broadcast, they expect it to be pleasant. Something that entertains, gives relief to tired souls. These days, on every channel and news paper there are news about robbery, rape, war situations which people are already aware of and do not want to burden their mind more reading/watching about it. Media should be portraying positive image, should be broadcasting good news, achievements and more entertainment stuff that is fun to watch. For instance, a person coming from 9 to 7 duty would not like to watch a documentary about how many people are deprived of clean water, or what percentage of rape has increased.

To recapitulate the aforementioned argument, news is in the hand of media and they play it in their favor only. The core purpose of media is to bring truth on the table. It is ethically unacceptable that news is misused or manipulated for the sake of personal interest.