You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Present a written argument or case to an educated reader with no specialist knowledge of the following topic:

News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news was reported?

Use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

You should write at least 250 words.

In the past few decades, journalism has risen to new levels. Availability of news has progressively become instant. Professional journalism has made it essential to choose appropriate channels to reach out to the masses. A decision as to which aspect of the news will be telecasted or printed is taken by the editor. Here on, I shall discuss a number of factors that are accounted while doing so.

Television is considered to be the fasted medium to reach a large populous. The news is largely categorized into different genres, such as daily events, crime, politics, sports, celebrity gossip, astrology and further on. Any piece of information is prioritized on the basis of severity. For instance, first preference is given to events which need immediate public attention, like natural calamities, terrorist attack, murder or theft.

Newspapers, on the other hand, are extremely cheap but are not as effective as the News broadcasted on television. Newspapers enjoy readership of the literate classes and more knowledgeable individuals. It has more detailed information on current topics and events. It also consists of recreational columns such as subjective articles, offers, and advertisements.

It has been observed that the news is flooded with mishaps and unfortunate happenings around the world. Responsible journalism needs to take charge and alter the negative perception of news in society. The Arabs adopt a very unusual act of spreading positivity. A special show is aired on news channels, which honors and appreciated the citizens who have been responsible and abiding the law. This encourages others to do well.

Many people are accustomed to acquiring news in the mornings. Hence, it is always preferred to start the day on a positive note. News often leaves a certain impact on impressionable young minds. In order to build a healthy and safe society, we need to replace misfortunes with more assertive reports that leave a more positive effect publicly.