The growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in towns and cities closing.

Do you agree or disagree?

There is no doubt that in the last ten years, E-Commerce industry is growing dramatically. More and more people are buying products from an online platforms. This has raised a question that will outlets in cities be closed permanently in coming future. I believe this notion is foreseeable because abundance of options to choose from and comfortable experience offered by an online stores.

To begin with, Online shopping provides a comfort to consumers to purchase from anywhere irrespective of the city they live in. One can buy products by sitting on the chair at home. There is no need to travel to the shop and stand in the long queues to pay bills and later lift bags. Specially, during festive seasons shops in local market and stores in the malls are flooded with customers. People can order goods from their smart devices without any physical strain. For instance, as per the result of latest survey, in Mumbai more than 70% people buy groceries online, because they do not want to pickup heavy bags. Therefore in the coming years there is a great possibility that all customers will shift to an online portals.

Furthermore, Online portals offer plethora of products to consumers and with the help of 3D modelling customer can try products virtually. This is really a biggest breakthrough in an online shopping. Consumers can try variety of cloths on themselves. However, after buying a product if customer is not satisfied with it they can easily return to the seller or can request for an exchange. For instance, my friend purchased jeans from Myntra by trying it virtually and later found that it was not fitting him, but he requested for an exchange, he received really a good support from customer service while replacement. This way variety of option and customer friendly policies are attracting customers toward buying online.

In conclusion, with booming of online shopping platforms, in coming years hops in the cities will certainly shut down permanently. I think this is because seamless comfort and variety of options available at an online websites.