The growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in towns and cities closing Do you agree or disagree

Recently, online shopping platforms have gained tremendous popularity due to which it is feared that retails in the urban and rural areas might close down permanently. In my opinion, this may not be the case as the availability of goods and the access to simple products are met only by visiting the local stores.

Firstly, most of the consumables, though simple and of a lower price, may not be available on online shopping platforms. Customers in the urban areas, usually prefer to use a brand of their choosing due to health benefits rather than purchasing an alternative on the internet which they might not be comfortable using. Furthermore, the cost of a few products sometimes, are quite higher than their market rates which might drive the customers to reach out to the retails. In a survey conducted by Amazon, more than a few dozen of their customers have reported returning goods for reimbursement as they did not find it of their liking.

Secondly, people in the rural areas who do not have constant access to the internet, have no choice but to opt for visiting local grocery stores. In many towns today, the internet facility is not yet prevalent due to the lack of technology consequently, a vast majority are not aware of the online shopping platforms. Hence, many still continue visiting their local supermarkets for fruits and vegetables as they find them to be more accessible. In an article published by The Times, an elderly retail goer expressed her gladness in being able to visit shops nearby her farm as she is able to purchase all of the items of her choice without struggling for the internet.

In conclusion, the boom in e-commerce may continue to increase but a majority of the customers still prefer to visit local stores. The freedom to select a product of their choice and access to goods is only met by having a shopping experience in the markets which I strongly support.