Nowadays in some countries around the world men and women are having children late in life What are the reasons for this development what are the effects on society and family life

It has been observed that many of the female demographic of this century are having children at a relatively older age. This could negatively affect the health and wellness of their offspring, but on the other hand, it provides ample time for women to exponentially grow in their career. I believe that the later holds much weightage which will be discussed through this essay.

Many women conceiving at a later age have shown to have delivered children with disturbing disabilities and deformities. The main reason for this has been pointed to the deteriorating capability of being able to bear a child, as with age the biological ability begins to deteriorate causing several health issues such as physical impairment. In an extensive research conducted by the World Health Organization, a report suggests that women having children after the age of 40 have had multiple complications leading to catastrophic consequences in the health of the mother or the child. On the contrary, such complication have scarcely occurred among the mothers of older generation, where they have had children at quite an early age.

Conversely, a majority of the women in this 21st century is more career focused and voluntarily opt to not proceed with family way until they touch 30 years. Pursuing higher education and focusing on professional achievements requires time, which young ladies are able to find if they are not planning to be new mothers. This directly indicates that there is a larger proportion of working women in today’s generation as compared to the last few decades where career was secondary. In a recent poll conducted by the Working Women magazine, a vast majority of women have opted to pursue higher education during their 30’s, depicting that an increasing number of women plan to have families at a later point in life.

In conclusion, while it might have been the trend of previous generations to have children at an early stage owing to health complications, women of this generation have diverted focus towards self-development, which I believe is a positive development.