Do you think that people who work online at home are more productive than office workers or the other way around? Give reasons and examples to support your answer.

In the 21st century, many working citizens have the option to work remotely from home or choose to engage in working offline. Though there may be many advantages and disadvantages of choosing either, this essay will focus on the amount of productivity by either working category.

Although many appreciate that working from home provides ample opportunity to work around the clock, I believe that this could lead to delays in correspondence among team members, ultimately lowering productivity. This has been quite evident in the recent situation of the pandemic when many businesses turned to web-based software alternatives to connect such as Microsoft Team in order to carry out work while following health guidelines. Even though people were connected round the clock, reports from The Times suggest that the productivity had dropped by more than half of the regular. This could be due to the reason that people were free to choose their work timing hence increasing the rate of irregularity for work-related punctuality.

On the other hand, occupations carried out in the office in the presence of team members result in greater fruitfulness owing to the ease in communication with colleagues. With the fixed working hours, it is well known by employees that in order to carry out any task where a discussion may be in place, their team will be available in the office hence eliminating any possible lag in taking an idea to production. This uninterrupted process of progressive work among employees leads to a rather quantifiable work in lesser time than it would have otherwise. In an interview with the CEO of Pexa, it was clearly distinguishable that the company’s annual turnover had doubled when they switched to work from the office.

In conclusion, working online may offer flexible duty hours but working on the premises among co-workers yields greater productivity. In the future, the option to choose may persist though it is in my interest to support working from the office as it results in greater productivity.