Being literate in technology or the internet is so popular that many believe that it will no longer be necessary to read conventional books as the main source of material for education. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Use specific reasons and examples to support your position.

Smart technology has never been so advanced and in the limelight, as it is today in the 21st century, resulting in the majority of the people believing that it is the epitome of education. Being able to conserve our environment and having access to the latest material are the two reasons I will elaborate in this essay as I strongly agree with the motion.

Firstly, technology can replace the demand for goods such as paper for books with smart devices like tablets. With the rise in population and consequently the increase in demand for goods exploitation of our natural resources has escalated exponentially. A recent magazine published by the New Foundland School, which has replaced the conventional books with computers, shares the large amount of contribution they have made towards carbon-neutral teaching. Upgrading to computers and smart devices will result in a decrease in deforestation and hence revive our environment.

Secondly, adapting to internet-based study has given students access to more information than traditional books. Teachers have opted to introduce knowledge sharing through various educational websites that are constantly being updated and in parallel with current affairs. In an interview with the principal of New York State college, the introduction of web-based learning last year resulted in higher attendance and an overall increase in performance by students for the academic year. With various free sources available on the internet, students of all ages voluntarily engage in gaining knowledge and hence increasing the literacy rates.

In conclusion, the hustle-bustle for technology has drastically elevated as the benefits are observed globally. A reduction in the exploitation of natural resources and the freedom to learn anything anywhere are the main reasons to migrate from traditional books to technology-based sources.