Many people work long hours leaving very little time for leisure activities Does this situation has more advantages or more disadvantages

Long working hours have become a common practice for the working-class members of society, so much so that spending time on personal interests and relaxing activities has been undermined. This essay will highlight the benefits and drawbacks of such decisions.

On the one hand, spending time at work in order to complete tasks results in appreciable outputs towards the organization’s visions and ultimately results in a promotion. Employees are assigned projects which cannot be completed within a few hours and requires dedicated lengthy hours at work, such as 9 am to 6 pm in order to reach a commendable stage. Moreover, once a project has been successfully completed, the team gets entitled to a promotion or even an appraisal. These incentives are what drive the breadwinners of each household to contribute to long work hours. In an interview with Mr. Jack Ma, the well know entrepreneur, the satisfaction of receiving benefits from his previous workplace was the driving reason for him to contribute 10 plus working hours towards his office.

On the other hand, lengthy labor hours result in the employee being exhausted and indirectly turning counterproductive. Taking part in activities that enrich the employee’s mood and bring a sense of calmness is vital to a team’s performance. But with the unavoidable work timings, people are forced to neglect the importance of such activities on their well-being and are driven into being workaholics. Forcefully extracting the nine hours from employees without counter offering any engagements for relaxation tends to bring down the overall thruput of an employee. Statistics published by the Daily Bugle Magazine of New York suggest that more than half of the population belonging to the working class are exhausted by the end of the fourth day of the week and are hardly productive on the fifth day.

In conclusion, although promotion and an appraisal are aww inspiring reasons to carry out lengthy working hours, damage to the employee’s productivity at work outweigh the benefits. In the future, the number of working hours can be reduced in order to maintain a balance between work and personal life.