The illiterate of the 21st century will not be those who cannot read and write , but those who cannot learn, unlearn and relearn. Agree or disagree.

The debate whether or over the illiteracy has been occurring in past centuries and now is an old one,with the attitude of people shifting throughout the debate over years. Proponents and opponents make their cases to endorse their views on this contagious issue.In this essay, I will analyse the matter from both point of view and then draw a conclusion.In my opinion , the onus should be on government.

To commence with, there are numerous arguments surrounding my viewpoint is that reading and writing ability cannot judge their quality pertain to illiteracy.Foremost, these two are the basic tools of education but I strongly defend this notion because some students are brilliant enough in memorising and cramming.In fact, literate comprises of many elements, so we can't measure illiteracy taking two elements into deliberation.From my personal experience , when I was a university student, a research was carried out by all prestigious professors.They revealed that it is impossible to categorise illiterate rate with these two aspects.When you take decision on this two elements , it is palpable you neglect myriad of major elements.It shows lack of knowledge.

On the flip side , critics also believed that it is so convenient nowadays to access the education.Notwithstanding, if a person still find unable to read and write then surely he will be categorised into illiterate.As tangible example , a MNC company Evicted the many employees because they were leading the future of company into danger.

To put in a nutshell, it is fair and justifiable to say that a person should be called literate if he is inculcated all the essential features.