An increase in the production of consumer goods results in damage to our natural environment. Why is this happening? What is the solution to it?

An expansion in the generation of consumer goods brings about harm to our native habitat. This essay will first suggest that the most significant cause behind this phenomenon is the progressive use of fossil fuels as an energy resource for the manufacturing process, and then suggests that encouraging the use of nuclear power as the most viable solution.

To embark with, the burgeoning population of the world needs products for their usage. As the demand for goods increases, manufacturing plants require a considerable amount of energy to meet the demands of this growing population. Since most of the energy required comes from fossil fuels such as coal, the exhaust fumes from the power generation centres contaminate the environment. As a result, our biosphere gets contaminated with carbon fumes giving rise to contaminations such as air pollution and soil pollution. For example, China is at the forefront of producing various consumer goods. However, the level of air pollution in China is far more than anywhere else in the world because of the excessive carbon footprint emerging from power stations.

Nevertheless, simple measures can resolve these increasing pollution levels in the environment. Governments should encourage the use of nuclear power instead of using non-renewable resources such as coal. Also, an enact should also be imposed to restrict the amount of waste produced by manufacturing companies which would aid to limit the amount of industrial waste dumped into landfill sites. For example, the United Kingdom has regulated the amount of industrial waste generated by its leading organisations which have significantly reduced the water and soil pollution in the nation.

In conclusion, due to the population explosion and an ever-increasing demand for consumer goods, our natural habitat is affected adversely. However, if authorities take a proactive approach to change the traditional energy generation methods and also limit the amount of commercial waste, our biosphere can be free from various contaminations and would become an ideal habitat for all the life forms on earth.