With the increased global demand in oil and gas, undiscovered areas of the world should be opened up to access more resources.

To what extent do you agree?

It is commonly believed that more oil and gas resources should be explored in order to fulfilled an increase in oil and gas demand. I completely agree with this opinion because oil and gas are a major energy source for human society, the number of predicted unexplored oil and gas resources of the world are far higher than the explored resources and oil and gas are the sustainable resources.

A major reason for holding my view is that human society hugely depends upon the energy and the 80% of world’s energy demand is generated from oil and gas. Therefore, oil and gas play a vital role to meet the energy requirement and it is impossible for human to continue development without oil and gas.

Furthermore, the world has an enormous amount of oil and gas reserves. A good reference for above statement is that scientists predicted that only 25% of world’s oil and gas resources are under production and the rest of the 80% are still unexplored. So, it is a feasible option for people to explore and increase production of oil and gas.

Lastly, they highly sustained materials. According to a study one at the University of Strathclyde, it is found that an abandoned oil/gas well could be regenerated with a right treatment after a hundred year period. This is a further reason why people should not hesitate to increase the oil and gas production.

In conclusion, it is my firm belief that people should increase the exploration of oil and gas. Given this situation, it is recommended that the government should allow oil and gas companies to explore and start production in unexplored area in order to meet the energy demand to support the development of the country.