Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems To what extent do you agree or disagree What other measures do you think might be effective

It is undeniable that traffic congestion and pollution due to vehicles is a huge problem at present. Some experts claimed that pricing up the fuel cos is the perfect way to resolve this issue. There are several reasons why I partially disagree with this vies and will be explained throughout the essay.

There is no doubt that increasing the number of motor transports cause pollution and traffic congestions on the motorways. However, if fuel price rise up, if might force few people to use public transport to reach their destination instead of using private transport, while most private vehicle owner will not fell that much trouble due to strong financial condition. On the other hand, a large number of people use public transport for their day to day commute. Rising up fuel price will cause to increase transport fare which will impact lot of lower level and middle level income people.

On the contrary, Imposing high tax on private transport and government subsidiary to public transport will be the first step to reduce the problem. For-Example, if government apply 400% or 500% tax on private transport, certainly, it will be beyond buying power of lots of people. On the other side government subsidiary on private transport will increase the quality of service and the transport fare will reasonable for everyone, which will encourage propel to avoid private vehicles. As a result, there will be less number of vehicles on the motor ways and less motor vehicles means low carbon-die-oxide emission and less traffic. Also, need to influence people to use eco friendly transport such as vehicle runs by solar power or electric car.

To sum, there are several ways to eradicate this problem. Government needs to take necessary steps to implement all the ways to sort out this issue effectively.