Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with the above statement?

What other measures do you think might be effective?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is thought by some people that high price of gasoline will encourage people to use more of the local transport and the number of traffic jams will be decreased.

To some extent, I agree with this statement. However, there are some aspects governments should take into account when gas have become more expansive.

First of all, costly gas will probably course rage and disappointment of masses. There is a possibility that folks will think that local authorities just want to refill their own pockets. Undisputable, traffic density has been thinning for the last decade in Ukraine due petrol price increasing. However, people has been trying to find other source of income to allow themselves keep on using cars. As you see, increasing the price won’t affect traffic problems. Therefore, pollution problems will stay unresolved.

In my opinion, there are a lot of more efficient solutions of this problem. To give a clear example, five years ago Japanese engineers invented a new type of the underground train. It’s able to accelerate about 300 km per hour for 20 seconds. This train is totally electrical; it doesn’t produce carbon dioxide as car. Moreover, there are completely nose isolated carriage. So, you won’t even notice the speed you moving.

There is also one thing we need to remember. Contemporary people have become more materialistic and consumptive. It’s very important for many of us to have an expansive car and boast it with your friends. As a result, youth are ready to pay the price they couldn’t afford to buy costly cars instead of spending their money for healthy food. I think, governments ought to motivate people to use local transport, bicycles, or e-mobiles for their movements.

In conclusion, I want to say, that high price of the petrol will not totally resolve a problem. Members of society should pay more attention to environment condition and understand the value of the nation. This is the main way to make our air more clear.