Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with the above statement?

It is considered that increasing the price of petrol is one of the most important ways to curb escalating traffic and pollution problems. However, in my opinion, I completely believe that using other sustainable sources of energy like solar, wind and hydro will immensely help to tackle such issues.

On the one hand, there are people who think that increasing the price of petrol will reduce its use and, thus, decrease rising traffic congestions and pollutions. However, in spite of increased petrol price people will continue to use it as there are no other viable options available to run vehicles. Hence, it will not bring much change in solving growing traffic issues and pollutions. In fact, due to increase in petrol price cost of goods may increase because of increase in the transportation costs, creating detrimental effects in the economy.

On the other hand, if more sustainable energy like solar power, wind power, and hydropower are utilised to run vehicles and factories, there will be less emission of harmful gases like carbon mono oxide and CFC which contributes increasing air pollution considerably. In addition, using solar power to run public vehicles would result in cheap fare. This will encourage people to travel through eco-friendly cheap trams, trains and buses.

To conclude, increasing the price of petrol is not the best way to resolve growing traffic congestions and pollutions. Thus, effective way to control aforementioned issues would be to use other renewable sources of energy in public transport system which can significantly bring down traffic and pollution problems.