Individual should handle climate change or it is the government’s responsibility. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Combating climate change has become an absolute necessity to live safely in today’s world and there are different opinions about the responsibility of tackling climatic variations. It is believed by some that government ought to deal with climate change while others argue that citizens also have the duties to tackle this. From my point of view, the state should be responsible for macro duties and individuals should perform micro duties.

On the one hand, it has often been pointed out that the scope of state to control climate change is larger. In other words, it is the government who could draft and implement new policies to reduce the negative impact of climate change. For instance, Bangladesh is vulnerable to sea level rise, especially low lying coastal regions, and the government should have policies to protect land and crops from extreme weather change. Furthermore, stringent rules and regulations should be enacted and implemented to discourage owners from establishing businesses that are not environmentally friendly. Likewise, a large scale divestment from industries, which are extracting fossil fuels, is also needed. Lastly, the fund for adapting climate change needs to be arranged and the state ought to take proactive approaches regarding this.

On the other hand, climate scientists postulate that a concerted approach is imperative to tackle climate change; hence, responsibility of every individual could not be ignored. Research suggests that if we reduce, reuse, and recycle the products, wastages could be reduced in a great extend. In addition, Individual must choose green products, which are less damaging to the environment and this will ultimately force businesses to make environmentally friendly products. Finally, to avoid dire consequences, natural disasters, of extreme weather change, people from all walks of life need to campaign against climate change so that awareness can be created to use clean energy and green products.

To conclude, Climate change is inevitable and it has become an emergency to combat this change. There is no blanket solution to this problem unless both the government and individuals work responsibly. I believe that the state should work sincerely in order to make major decisions regarding climate change and every individual must co-operate the government by observing rules and regulation if we want to live peacefully in this beautiful world.