Some people think that cooking is an important skill for young people to learn. Others
believe that it is better for people to learn how to cook after they become adults.
Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.
Nowadays, both children and parents have a hectic pace of life so it can be hard for the
young to learn the skills required to make a meal. However, I believe kids should be taught
to cook at an early age as opposed to waiting until adulthood.
Many children have a keen interest in food and do not want to rely on their parents for
everything. At a young age it’s a good idea for kids to develop knowledge of food. In this way
they will make more informed choices about what they eat and they may refuse junk food
which is a popular meal choice in the schoolyard. Additionally, if children are taught to cook
they will be more independent and will be able to prepare healthy meals for themselves at
times when their parents are too busy with work.
There are few people who believe children should only focus on study and that cooking can
be quite dangerous. These parents are quite obsessed with their children’s academic
records and want them to only focus on schoolwork. However, in the long run surely it is
more important to develop skills that can help you live a healthy life than to do well on one
exam. Also, while kitchens can be scary places with knives and fire, if parents are
responsible and give supervision to their kids, then cooking will not be a dangerous activity.
To conclude, it’s clear that while the importance of study and the dangers of cooking
shouldn’t be overlooked, they can both be managed and children should be able to develop
their own independence and cooking skills.