Some people think that cooking is an important skill for young people to learn. Others believe that it is better for people to learn how to cook after they become adults.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There has been an ongoing debate whether young adults should learn to cook at their early ages or get skilled to cook after they grow up. In my opinion, I agree that youngsters should be equipped with cooking skills as early as possible since it could be helpful for them in hard times, although many people argue that it is unnecessary and dangerous for these individuals.

First and foremost, adolescents can take advantage of being familiar with cooking when they are obligated to prepare their own meal. This is because, in some cases, youth may be left by themselves or they would be left hungry if their parents or adult relatives are not around with them. For instance, after graduating from high school, substantial amount of students prefer to study abroad or far from their hometown. In that case, they need to handle cooking by themselves since their parents will not be next to them. A second case can be given that in many occasions, parents leave their kids at home when they go out for an event or an invitation. Hence, young people ensure to know cooking in case they starve in these situations. Consequently, youngsters should be taught how to cook to deal with hunger while they alone.

On the other hand, some people argue that teaching kids how to cook is redundant and it poses danger for them. Considering this, they believe that cooking by themselves can be risky for youngsters who are also occasionally left alone. To illustrate, cutting the materials with sharp knifes or using fire to heat the meal could even burn the house or hurt the kids mistakenly. However, they fail to understand that the probability of these incidents are too low thanks to the technological developments in housing appliances and the items such as fire detector which prevents these issues to occur. Furthermore, the individualism in today’s world has been rising rapidly which causes the parents to leave their kids at home by themselves more than an occasional frequency. As a result, even though some people reject to teach their daughters or sons how to cook due to possible ramifications, it would be definitely useful in many times and it poses risks which can be neglected.

To sum up, I believe that young people should get accustomed to cook their own meal to deal with situations when they are alone, even though many individuals are opposed to the view due to its danger and unnecessity which are both preventable and invalid.