Individuals can do nothing to change society. New developments can be only brought about by governments and large institutions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been a matter of debate since long that changes in society can only be brought by a governing body and large institutions rather than individuals. Although it can never be denied that a ruling party have the power and resource to bring new developments whereas in my opinion both government and individuals need to work hand in hand to bring positive changes in the society which can make this world a better living place. In this essay I will elucidate my opinion with relevant examples.

First and foremost, ministry globally have always been policy makers and facilitator for its society. They can provide world class facilities like education, health care and security for their people. However, it is for an individual to use such facilities and innovate to bring changes in the society. For instance, Singapore government is providing funding to some brilliant individuals from National University of Singapore to build its first communication satellite. Similarly in developing countries like India, authority is facilitating resources to individuals to start manufacturing space components in india. Therefore it is evident that individuals and government need to work jointly to bring new developments in the society.

Large corporations have funding and resources to bring new developments in the society. To exemplify, when we look at specific examples from companies like Apple it can be seen that individuals like Steve Jobs have made a difference by inventing communication gadgets like MacBook’s, Phones.

To conclude, it is evident from above examples that although government and large corporations have a larger role to play to trigger a change in the society however they must co-work with individuals to bring a positive change which can be reaped by our future generations.