The internet allows us to stay connected with each other no matter where we are. On the other hand, it also isolates us and encourages people not to socialise.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with these statements?

Recently, internet has been evolved as a great tool of communication. By using it we can communicate with our friends and family whatever the distances is. However, sometimes it helps to confine some people in virtual world and discourage to mingle with the society. I do fully agree that internet has a lot of excellent positive outcomes like distant connectivity but it has some negative aspects too which could be appeased by proper education.

There is no way to refuge that internet has offered a lot of facilities to us. First of all, the business organisations can now reach to their customers using it and can get instant feedbacks from their customers which is not possible from others modes of mass communication medias like television or newspapers. This information help the manufacturer to launch new products and to design new services according to the market demands. Secondly, in personal level internet facilitates us to stay connected with our friends and families. By using social websites like Facebook, WhatsApp and so on we can now stay connected and share our feelings and opinions with audio-visual contents. For example, my cousin stayed connected all the time through social media during his four days Europe tour.

However, every positive thing has some negative aspects and Internet is not an exception of that. Ironically, social websites many a time are making us unsocial. Some people are so obsessed with the utopian virtual world that they often give priority of virtual friends over the real friends and family members. They fail to understand that most of the things shared on the virtual world are not realistic and often exaggerated. I can remember one of my friend who is a technological savvy and a heavy user of social networks, but is really seen in any social gathering.

To conclude, internet has become an indispensable part of our life and for communication purpose we are now greatly dependent on it. However, despite of having some critical negative effects, internet has a lot of positive outcomes and the advantages have far outweighed the disadvantages. As far as I am concerned, by promoting proper education the negative outcomes could be minimised.