The internet has greatly increased our access to information. To what extent do you think this is a good thing?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the today's world of digitization, the internet has greatly increased the access to information. In this essay, I will share the pros and cons of this and draw a conclusion towards my opinion.

On the positive front, access to information has been a great help towards the advancement of society. The information which was very difficult to find earlier, is now available at the finger tips. Let's take an example of the recent COVID situation. The information with respect to the spread of the disease, it's variants, the symptoms, impact on the human health, etc. is now easily available to everyone via internet. This I believe, has helped to bring the awarness quickly and recude the spread of the pandemic. Without access to internet, this would not have been possible.

On the other hand, there are disadvantages as well. There is certain negative information which should not be made easily accessible, but that also is now easily accessible with internet. For example, there are various videos on distructive ideas like how to make bombs or how to get away with a murder and so on. People with criminal intent or unstable minds, can easily get hold of this information and use it to commit crimes. Many videos on internet have also proved to spread hatredness and communal violence. Probably, this is one of the reason for increased crime rate globally.

Like any technological advancement, the internet also comes with it's advantages and disadvantages as explained above. In my opinion, internet is certainly one of the best things that has happened to the human race, but the control and governance of the same it also very important. There should be mechanisms put in place to filter out negative and destructive content on internet, so that the people can take the advantage of the access to information, but keep it safe at the same time. Some of the companies like Google that offer internet search have started providing such filters recently.