The internet has greatly increased our access to information. To what extent do you think this is a good thing?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The sheer volume of personal information that is available in the internet is increased by ten hold over the last decade. There might have been certain instances where some good might have happened out of this, but the violation of individual privacy at this rate, do more harm than good.

The means through which the companies access to our personal information have changed over time. Now we are giving out more information to the internet more than we ever did through social media platforms. In-terms of apps collecting data, there are so many apps available in the market that is using real time user data to perform social engineering and provide its result to big companies. With this information, the companies determines the ads that are suggested to us through email and social media. For Example: A father sued a Big super market for providing maternity clothing subscription to his teenage daughter. But the girl had ordered pregnancy related tablets from their pharmacy section. With this purchase, the company engineers the subscription. Another good example is, where an individual girl posting everyday of her life online which led to her entire identity duplicated and used by hackers. She posted almost everything from a normal day at home, to getting graduated. Even her diploma got hacked from online presence. She almost lost everything she had because of this cyber bullying.

Sometimes, we get to hear some good out of this , like an individual's smart watch alerted the ambulance service while he was having a heart attack. This smart watch practically saved his life. But the number of negative impacts out weighs the number of good this technology does with our data.

There is a saying in Tamil, That roughly translates to " Too much of anything is never good". With that note, I would like to conclude that we are giving out more information to the internet than we can possibly imagine. This is not healthy for the individual as well as for the society.