It is expected that in the future old people are going to outnumber young people in many countries. Do you feel this is a positive or negative development?

The population of the senior citizens of many societies has been on the increase in recent years. People have different views on the issue of whether this is a positive trend or not. I believe that although there are some advantages of the increasing number of elderly people in various nations, the disadvantages by far outweigh the advantages. It will be shown by analyzing the lack of workforce and the expenditures spend on health scheme.

One of the most significant negative effects of the large number of elderly people in each society is the huge amount of money that should be spent on health care system. This increasing number of old people need a decent public health system which includes modern, equipped hospitals and appliances that should be required from taxpayers and would put pressure on the economy. A salient example of this is the Japan in which the number of senior citizens is almost twice as the number of youngsters and government has to spend 60% of the taxes on health scheme.

On the other hand, the scarcity in the number of young and effective workforce would have some detrimental effects on the economy and progressions in various fields such as science, technology and the like. Young people are more innovative, ambitious and energetic, so they are interested in making improvements in their job by enhancing the working environment and thinking up new strategies and ideas; however, the elderly people are not enthusiastic enough to pursue the latest technology and they are out of touch with the modern life style. To support my claim, I can refer to an article having been published in Times magazine, indicates that the Australian governments have to accept more immigrants in order to boost the number of birth in their country and to cover the scarcity of young workforce in the market.

In conclusion, not only the economy of the society but also the public issues such as health would be influenced by increasing number of elderly in different nations. Some steps should be taken by government authorities to tackle this problem.