It is generally believed that some people are born with certain talents, for instance for sport or music, and others are not. However, It is sometimes claimed that any child can be taught to become a good sports person or musician.

In this competitive world, people with certain level of proficiency in their career have a higher chance of success. Therefore, the controversy exists as to whether this degree of competency is a god given talent or can be acquired through practice. This essay aims to investigate the above-mentioned debate.

The defenders of genetically-inherited talent convincingly argue that there is a cascade of vital qualities in many fields that cannot be learned. Firstly, some sports demand particular physical characteristics that are only transferred through genes to offspring. For example, height in basketball or strong bone structure for football are necessities that cannot be taught. Secondly, it has been abundantly seen that children who are raised in similar circumstances have different abilities in the same obsession. For example, a research has been conducted on siblings in a close age that studied their capability in learning musical instruments. The outcome showed that although they had same instructors and used same instruments, the improvement pace was different in them.

On the other hand, the quote “practice makes perfect” has some wisdom to it. The vital role of hard work should not be undermined in any endeavor. There are many examples of people these days that have reached the highest level of success because of their dedication and hard work. Take famous musicians or sportsmen as an example, many of them admit that they learned the tricks of their trade by practicing. Another reason in support of the significance of training is that flaws and weaknesses can be discovered through repetition of a task. Hence, by correcting them, a higher level of proficiency can be achieved.

All in all, while the debate of talent versus hard-work has been continued for many years and probably will be continued for years to come, on the basis of the aforementioned points, I believe some natural and physical talents are certainly inheritable. However, training and hard work also play a vital part in achieving perfection.