It is important for children to learn difference between right or wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction .

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion ?

What sort of punishments should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children ?

Punishments plays a significant role in modeling ideal human behavior, especially at young age. Although, I support the notion of punishing children, I strongly believe that behavorial corrections should not be physically harming for children and in this essay, I will state the reason for my views.

The most compelling reason why punishments can build maturity in children is due to the fear such acts can still in children towards doing wrong things. Children are often unaware of the negative consequences of their acts which may harm someone psycologically or physically. For instance, bullying in schools, children's lack of understanding can instigate them to perform such acts. However, if they are made aware of the punishments assiociated of performing such acts, they may refrain from doing so. Without the act of punishments or behavioural corrections, it would be difficult to inculcate ideal and moral values in some children.

Despite of aforementioned arguments in favor of punishments, in my opinion , punishments should not be in form of violence towards children. As children are in their formative years , any injuries or harm to children's bodies could be brought in adulthood and could have lasting negative effects. Instead, punishments in children could be more situational. For example, cutting them off of their social circle for a short period of time or reducing their pocket monies, can prevent children from doing things that are unacceptable in the society.

In conclusion, it is difficult to model ideal behaviour in children and there could be times when parents may resort to act of punishments. While punishments can be effective , parents and teachers can subject children to non harming situations as punishments. It is imperative to avoid violence or acts that cause injuries to children in form punishments.