Many museums charge for admission while do not charge at all. Do you think the advantages of not charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

In many nations around the world, there are many galleries showcasing historical and cultural artifacts without charging any money to the visitors. While offering free visits to such sites has certain advantages, there are certain disadvantages worth considering.

The primary advantage by offering free entry to museums would be creating widespread awareness about local culture by attracting a number of local visitors and international tourist. Additional, this phenomenon would also enable educating the youth about their traditional values, as they are increasingly attracted to pop culture and are in danger of losing their identities. Therefore, such subsides can be justified as they showcase cultural heritage and enhance national pride.

On the other hand, various drawbacks can be noted. In first place, restoring ancient artifacts and preserving them would involve significant costs. Such sites are often a source of income for an administration to fund the excavation and archaeological research. Offering free entry would mean that funds should be obtained from elsewhere which might not be feasible for economically challenged countries. Additionally, if such sites are free to visit, people may consider them unworthy and less significant. On the other hand, if there are charges associated, people might consider visiting such sites valuable as part of their expeditions.

In conclusion, the disadvantages are of a greater importance compared to advantages. The entry charges paid by visitors are vital as the secure the maintenance of rare educational resources and recognition of their significance. Given the situation, it is recommended that an administration should charge nominal fees for all museums in order to sustain efforts in preservation of history and culture.